Skorne – The bridesmaids are finally getting married

So…Skorne. The perennial joke of Hordes, constantly considered subpar for many editions except for a broken model (Molik) and theme (Fist of Halaak). At the start of Mk3 they were so bad that Privateer Press were willing to go admit that they screwed up and revisited the whole faction 6 months later. Now, after an amazing errata and some really good themes given to them, they are on the cusp of becoming a big player in the game (at least in my opinion).

I have had a Skorne army for around 3 years, but they rarely come out due to my ongoing love of Khador, my first faction. Recently I have become a bit bored of the big red machine and need a break, with all the great themes, and Zaadesh2 as a fascinating caster, I have bought them out to play. Due to a lucky stock clearance and second-hand sales I also have most of a Makeda2 KitKat list, and my aim is to get them out at a tournament at the end of the month. Here are the two lists I am currently testing:

 

(Makeda 2) Supreme Archdomina Makeda [+27] (Masters of War Theme)
– Basilisk Krea [7]
– Molik Karn [19]
Mortitheurge Willbreaker [4]
Mortitheurge Willbreaker [4]
Tyrant Rhadeim [9]
Cataphract Cetrati (max) [18]
– Tyrant Vorkesh [0(6)]
Praetorian Ferox (max) [20]
Praetorian Ferox (max) [20]
Tyrant Commander & Standard Bearer [0(6)]
Tyrant Commander & Standard Bearer [0(6)]

  • Theme benefits of +1 starting roll and models gaining takedown and RFP on melee weapons

 

(Zaadesh 2) Lord Tyrant Zaadesh [+28] (Imperial Warhost Theme)
– Agonizer [0(6)]
– Archidon [10]
– Basilisk Krea [0(7)]
– Basilisk Krea [0(7)]
– Bronzeback Titan [18]
– Titan Gladiator [15]
– Titan Sentry [15]
– Titan Sentry [15]
Gremlin Swarm [3]
Paingiver Beast Handlers (max) [7]
Swamp Gobbers Bellows Crew [2]
Siege Animantarax [17]

  • Theme benefits of +2” deployment and beasts gaining hyper aggressive

The Makeda2 list exploits the standard trick of Ferox being tough (from the willbreakers), steady and then Makeda saving any who die with Stay Death. The most common list before the masters of war theme came out was to include the legends of halaak, min paingiver beast handlers and Orin Midwinter. This is still possible in the post-theme list, and you gain 2 x Tyrant Commanders for free, which helps speed up the cats even more. I have decided to go away from this and swap out the Legends and support for meat with a full unit of Cetrati. This also lets me include Vorkesh for free since I have broken through the 60pt limit for 3 free units/attachments. I am not sure if this will work, especially since it weakens molik and the fury management plus defence against spell assassination, but I want to give it a go. It adds some nice punch to the list, and with the tyrant commanders they are also a bit faster. I will write up how I get on with them after a few practice games.

The Zaadesh2 list plays as a great brick and has excellent ranged assassination defence, plus can also help clock an opponent with a frustrating feat turn. Originally, I ran it out of theme to have Tiberion in the list, but with my acquisition of a new Titan Sentry and the battle engine I have moved into theme. I have also added the Swamp Gobbers for a small unit to score a round zone, plus an additional cloud is extremely helpful with the way terrain is currently done in SR2017. The Gremlin Swarm is also another scenario piece since the only faction solo allowed is the Mortitheurge Willbreaker, which is not particularly good on a flag.

I believe that both lists have good play into Cryx and Cygnar, and provide problems for a lot of people out there. I need to try to avoid anyone with Tough removal when playing the Makeda2 list, but this is generally quite easy to spot, and unless it is widespread in the opposing army it can be played around.

My next article will cover the results of the tournament and any potential changes I will be looking at.

(Thanks to www.conflictchamber.com for providing an easy list builder to put my armies up)

Leave a Reply

